advertisement

Arkless 640P "Dr T Mode"/current input version interest check

This is on the way to the next recipient now and I have bought a 620P already in preparation....

I have never used a phono stage before, having always used the built in stages my preamps... Having got hold of a Denon cartridge, I wanted to see what could be achieved without a huge outlay. I was enjoying the cartridge already, but wanted to see if the Gti made a difference..

Plumbed it in and the short answer is yes, of course it did. (Yamaha YP-D9 table with Micro Seiki arm and Denon 103r in Midas HS)

I compared my other sources (CD and Tidal HIFI) to what the turntable could now achieve with the same albums and I'll be honest the GTi blew me away on most selections.. I don't spend my time listening to music to try and recreate the 'live' venue, or create a 'real' instrument in my home, I listen to music that I enjoy and my main musical tastes are Electronica, Ambient and EDM - not your usual audiophile record collection.. BUT please don't stop reading if Classical is your only favour... some music of this genre has been written, mixed and produced by people with the utmost love, care and attention... The producers thrive on creating a layered, enveloping soundfield.. And lots of them have very esoteric hifi at home, so are very used to listening to HOW music should be produced...