advertisement

Stirling ls3/5a V2 vs Harbeth P3ESR

Yes, that's what a large part of me is thinking. If I go for something else, I won't get rid of that hankering. And it is at least based on experience (whereas I have no experience with the P3).
I would not dismiss the P3. Although it is indeed slightly different from the ls3/5a (even if you look at cabinet size) it very much belongs to this group of speakers and sound, so I will try 40th AE together with the Stirling, hopefully this weekend.

Is the Harbeth HL-P3 ESR model much better than the HL-P3 ES, folks? I used to have the latter and it was one of the least memorable small speakers I have owned and sold them for £350 or so, and in mint condition. Ran them with a gamut of amps from fancy valves to powerful hybrids and many solid state, but they never really changed their rather grey character.

I don't have much experience of BBC designs but I heard the Falcons at a show run by a modest Primare integrated i15 amp and almost bought them on the spot!

It's going to be, I think, down to partnering kit, esp the amp that's driving them, your rooms furnishings and then ofc, the music you love. And even if we knew ll that. you'd still not pick what I'd pick. Get them into that space and hear them, but for me it's a 2 wat battle b

Is the Harbeth HL-P3 ESR model much better than the HL-P3 ES, folks? I used to have the latter and it was one of the least memorable small speakers I have owned and sold them for £350 or so, and in mint condition. Ran them with a gamut of amps from fancy valves to powerful hybrids and many solid state, but they never really changed their rather grey character.

I don't have much experience of BBC designs but I heard the Falcons at a show run by a modest Primare integrated i15 amp and almost bought them on the spot!
Yes, the P3ESR is better than P3 ES.

If I were going by price:

1) PSB Alpha 5. Ridiculously good for $400 a pair. Put em on stands with a good front end and you'll be amazed.