advertisement

My first few days with Roon - thoughts and questions

IN regards to minis I believe they have space for two drives so indeed one running mac os with roon server and one for storage.

Though in this regard mac minis offer no benefits what so ever, its just a very expensive way of doing it.

garyi, thanks for letting me know. There's plenty to think about. I've mulled over getting a Raspberry Pi 4 and they are easy to buy online.

I went into a well known hi-fi shop in London's King's Road the other day to ask if they stocked them, which of course they didn't. I got a pushy talking to about streamers after I said I'd heard that they can cost relatively little.

I mentioned to the salesman that some think a Pi with an Allo HAT can perform better than an expensive streamer. The guy then lectured me about how how some reviewers online and in print are on the take.

I told him I work as a journalist and used to write reviews of albums/CDs and gigs, so I am aware that they can be on the take. I was very polite about all of this.

As I opened the door to walk out I heard the salesman say to his boss "That guy's a w^^ker."

Don't think I'll be giving them any of my money. :)

Jack

Which shop Jack? I’ll make sure I don't go there as I’m quite near Kings Road, well a couple of miles away...

Sevenoaks. I've been in there before and chatted to the salesman's boss and he was fine. I know times are hard for shops, but it's weird to go into one and be treated like you don't know anything at all.

It's a shame because they stock some good gear.

Jack

I’ve been up and down that road for decades and never new there was a Sevenoaks there !!

my preference was the one on Old Brompton Road, just by The Bolton’s.

Last edited:
I think for anyone contemplating really getting into hifh streaming there are two fantastic options out there right now for a server: