advertisement

To B&W or not to B&W...

tuga

Legal Alien
To B&w or not to B&w, that is the question...

After visiting India for the first time in '95 I just had to start shooting colour. The following year I carried 2 camera bodies, one loaded with Ektachrome the other with XP2 but I unded up hardly ever using the B&W camera. Then my children were born, I stopped travelling and photographing.
I was only in the early '10s I was asked to photograph a few "book portfolio" experiences for my young cousin and I started playing with black and white again.
For the past 5 years now it's been about 50/50; I choose whatever I find best suits that particular photo. I think that at least 90% would work just as well in B&W.

Last year I applied for a venue but my application was rejected. One of the criticisms was that the project was a mixture of black and white photos which according to them made the selection feel less cohesive. Since then I have been torn between mixing colour with b&w or giving up on the former altogether.
This issue has been made even more nagging now that I am in the process of editing a selection of images for a zine...

What are your views on this matter, to mix or...mono only?

Last edited:
Almost everything I post is B&W, I think colour can often be a distraction from the subject being photographed, and I find getting something to work well in colour is more difficult than B&W. However I’m open minded and will make exceptions where colour adds to the image.

I use the Alienskin Exposure plugin for all my B&W conversions.

Almost everything I post is B&W, I think colour can often be a distraction from the subject being photographed, and I find getting something to work well in colour is more difficult than B&W. However I’m open minded and will make exceptions where colour adds to the image.

I use the Alienskin Exposure plugin for all my B&W conversions.