advertisement

Rotel RCD965BX

say it as it is

pfm Member
Well inspired by some of the threads on here about older cd players I have taken a punt on an old rotel.
The drawer is sticking so have ordered a new belt and will get some silicone lube for the rails and mechanism.
So has anyone replaced the belt on an RCD965BX?
I have swapped mechanism on other CDs and replaced belts on Xbox dvd drives but not this player yet.

Anything else I should look out for or any other tweaks to bring this player up to date?

I have limited electronic knowledge but keen to learn

You can do loads of mods new opamps bypass the muting stage new clock, which is probably the first mod to do.

Pete

I have the same CD player which I no longer use as I've moved to streaming.
The drawer also stuck on mine but what I noticed was that if the player was switched on about half an hour before using the drawer functioned perfectly.

I assumed from experience with other cd and dvd drive is the belt slipping the highest load is at the start to drop the platter up or down the actual sliding or drawer is ok.
In the past the belt slipping heated up or git spun to a point where it gripped.
With other drives simply changing the bell fixed this

Hi belt was about £5 can't mind the company they were based abroad but quick delivery but loads of places online sell them same belt fits a few of them.
Take cover off and you will see it no problems.