advertisement

David Bowie - Full Set - BBC 2

Was that the complete set? I loved it having grown up in that era but nothing off Aladdin Sane?? For me my favourite Bowie era.. Hunky, Ziggy, Aladdin were his peak albums. Having said that I always had a soft spot for Station to Station, nice to hear some tracks off that album.
Yeah he was playing Cracked Actor and The Jean Genie around that time, would have loved to hear Earl Slick doing his stuff on those!

It pains me a bit to say this but I found the whole thing a bit too - "Vegas"

Yes the band were tight, yes his voice was on song , yes I had tears dribbling down my face during "Under Pressure" (a song that has a very deep memory for me - putting up the posters for it on the wall in the Virgin Megastore on Tottenham Court Road - during a break from operating the shrink wrapping machine - which is what I did for a living back then) and Gail Ann Dorsey is still the coolest woman on the planet. But.

If only he had picked up his guitar.

I'd've loved to have seen him do the intro to Starman on that old 12 string.

I thought it was a touch boring myself. Certainly no shivers sent up my spine. As Graystoke, the only time I caught him live was Milton Keynes 1983. The Serious Moonlight tour.

We watched this yesterday.

Bowie was wearing approx. 2" heels. (he was about 5'10")

We both thought he needed more/better backing singers. A 16 strong choir would have been better. The backing vocals sounded really thin in parts.

Ashes To Ashes, Rebel Rebel, Starman all good. My favourite was Station To Station.

Low points - 'Little Wonder'. - 'Hallo Spaceboy'. -

and unfortunately 'Under Pressure'. It really needed a strong voice to fill Freddy's boots, the voice of the woman on the bass wasn't strong enough. another song were better/more backing singers would have been a stronger performance. (both of us agreed on that point)
'Golden Years' also had thin sounding backing.