advertisement

A DIY Radford STA25 restoration

Mike P

Trade: Pickwell Audio
Like the title says, I have just bought a Radford STA25. Eeek!

The seller had powered it up slowly on a variac and briefly demonstrated it to me with some small cheap bookshelf speakers but other than that it hasn't been tested or properly assessed.

I'm new to Radfords, and still quite new to valve amps in general if I'm honest, so any advice on assessing the amp would be gratefully received.

So, here it is:

P1110580 by Michael Pickwell, on Flickr

All looks to be Kosher to me under the cover.

P1110572 by Michael Pickwell, on Flickr

And here's the circuit boards:
P1110571 by Michael Pickwell, on Flickr

The spark supressor has obviously gone pop at some point.

P1110568 by Michael Pickwell, on Flickr

And it looks like someone has emptied their collection of ferrites into it! :confused:

P1110569 by Michael Pickwell, on Flickr

P1110570 by Michael Pickwell, on Flickr

The small valves are all Mullards

P1110575 by Michael Pickwell, on Flickr

P1110576 by Michael Pickwell, on Flickr

But the four EL34's are a mixed bunch.

P1110574 by Michael Pickwell, on Flickr
Second from left is obviously branded Chelmer. The one on the far left looks to be the same construction but is slightly shorter. The third from left is a Mullard XF2. I've no idea what the one on the far right is.

So, there we have it. Peach or lemon?

Last edited:
And it looks like someone has emptied their collection of ferrites into it! :confused:

I’m obviously no expert, but the four things in a row look like a solid state bridge rectifier, i.e. four fairly ancient diodes, and three of them look to be cracked!

PS It looks in very decent cosmetic condition and as long as the transformers are fine it can be sympathetically rebuilt to as-new condition. That is exactly what I’d do.