advertisement

Naim speakers - I have 'my set'

Sorry to jump in but I'm new to Naim (and decent hifi to be honest) but starting to think about speakers for my system and this thread caught my eye - at the moment, I'm running some Vienna Acoustic Bach Floorstanders - I've had them for since early 2000's, picked up second hand for about £400. They're great - they're easy to listen to though wondering whether to change for some Naim speakers, something a little punchier - what are thoughts here?

My current set up is the XS3 and ND5XS2.

Its possible to go Linn Exakt with Bach speakers too :)

FWIW, and I know I’ll end up annoying some folk, but for me the SBL is by far the best of the Naim speakers. Set up well it is coherent, musical, open, agile and fun. The drivers are close enough together to properly integrate (helped by the baffle slope), the cabinet very clever and inert, and the bass deep enough to have some real impact and scale in the right room. Much to my surprise they are very good with valve amps too. My least favourite, by far, are the NBLs which to my ears just sound like three distinct drivers that really shouldn’t be together in one speaker, let alone a couple of feet apart. One of very few speakers I’ve heard multiple times in multiple locations and never wanted to stay in the room with for more than a few minutes. The DBL is better than the NBL, but I still much prefer the coherence and openness of the SBL. The IBL is a likeable little speaker for a tiny flat, but these days SBLs are so devalued why bother, there is likely no difference in price? In the right room (i.e. one where hard against the wall is the best option) I’d argue SBLs were a surprisingly good speaker, far better than many non-Naim fans believe, and don’t assume you need to have Naim kit upstream. I’d very happily use a good valve amp!