advertisement

Naim speakers - I have 'my set'

Sorry to jump in but I'm new to Naim (and decent hifi to be honest) but starting to think about speakers for my system and this thread caught my eye - at the moment, I'm running some Vienna Acoustic Bach Floorstanders - I've had them for since early 2000's, picked up second hand for about £400. They're great - they're easy to listen to though wondering whether to change for some Naim speakers, something a little punchier - what are thoughts here?

My current set up is the XS3 and ND5XS2.

I think it depends on what sound you are looking for. It's a long time since I heard the Bachs, but they were quite warm and smooth sounding and I must admit rather nicely finished. £400 sounds like a veritable bargain for a speaker that has given you over 15 years service. You will find Naim Allaes for around £400 and they will sound punchier, but I suspect if you like the balance of your system you will find them a bit OTT. If you're ever up near Kings Lynn you are welcome to pop round for a listen and see what you think.

To be fair Naim speakers are a bit marmite, as you can see from the oh so helpful comment by abbydog ;) Plus Naim bashing is a sport on here. I suggest you listen to a pair when you get the chance and make up your own mind, but your VA Bachs are very good speakers especially for that price.

Thanks peterm. Like others here, I have always taken the outer measurements on drive units hence wondering about the 7" figure.

I have a pair of the aforementioned Pageants and as well as sounding rather good, the main driver is extraordinarily free moving within its chassis and has a nice, pliable rubber surround. This is the only pair of Mordaunt Shorts I have ever owned but if they are typical of the breed, I can see why they were well thought of. I can imagine with the development you mention, the Naim iteration would be a further improvement on what was a good driver to start with.