advertisement

I'm building my son his first amplifier and I'd be grateful for some advice

Jon Dennis

Bo Nydal
I'm a newbie here, though I have been lurking for a little while, and have rather limited knowledge and experience electronic engineering-wise. Nonetheless, I have decided to build my son an amplifier to go with the turntable he has recently acquired, for no better reason than my first amplifier was a self build (40-odd years ago) and I want to do the same for/to him. Although mine sounded pretty poor I'd like my son's to be rather better, though I'm not aiming for the stars.

I have recently replaced the amp boards in my NAP140 for a pair of Avondale Qudos boards and so I have a pair of Naim amp boards available around which I could build the new amplifier. I would not want to saddle the lad with an ongoing requirement for NACA5 speaker cable so I'd like to understand whether I can mod the amp boards to remove or sidestep the stability issue without excessive compromise to sound quality. If I can that's great, if not then I'll have to think again about the build approach. If possible I'd like to avoid simply buying and building a kit as I'd like to gain a little more from the experience than just some soldering practice.

I would be very grateful if anyone in the forum can answer this question and, should it be in the affirmative, offer help or advice about the mod itself. If anyone has any helpful suggestions about the wider project (other than "don't even try it, mate") they would also be very welcome. Ditto dire warnings and helpful, amusing or salutary anecdotes.

Thanks, in anticipation, for any help.

Bo