advertisement

Election night 2019 / aftermath II

I can’t let this go as you appear determined to add a snipe in every post.

I understand it completely. My best friend of nearly 50 years happens to be an IFA, he understands it extremely well and has explained it all very clearly.

By the way, I don’t dislike my best friend.

No snipe intended, you are simply incorrect when it comes to effective tax rates, thinking some people only pay 7.5% for example. This appears to have given you a false impression of the tax affairs of a certain group of people. I’ve got lots of friends who do lots of things but it doesn’t mean I’m an expert because they’ve tried to explain something to me. I was however, amongst other things, a company secretary for 15 years, so I’ll just leave it there. All the best and Happy Christmas!

No snipe intended, you are simply incorrect when it comes to effective tax rates, thinking some people only pay 7.5% for example. This appears to have given you a false impression of the tax affairs of a certain group of people. I’ve got lots of friends who do lots of things but it doesn’t mean I’m an expert because they’ve tried to explain something to me. I was however, amongst other things, a company secretary for 15 years, so I’ll just leave it there. All the best and Happy Christmas!
Blimey.

What I said was, as a so-called ‘company’, people pay themselves a small salary plus a larger amount in dividends, on which they are able to they pay a lower rate of tax ~8%. So it’s actually 7.5%. At no point have I said people are paying an overall effective tax rate of 7.5%, which appears to be what you are suggesting I said.

Maybe if you got off your defensive high-horse for a minute you may not jump to incorrect conclusions.

Blimey.