advertisement

Macbook Student offer

Woodface

pfm Member
Apologies for the parent paranoia but I have no real knowledge of Mac Books. Are they a good option for students? Are they worth the money? I am wary of buying a cheaper lap top only to replace it half way through son's degree. Currently there is a 20% off offer if bought through their education scheme 'uni days'.

If our students had a Macbook they wouldn't be eligible for most of our free software, unless of course they were able to run windows10 in a VM, then some of the SW image will work.

A handful of our students use them (computer science), and even some of our staff, they show no longer life than a similarly specced Win10 PC. The vast majority of our computer science students set up their laptops to be dual boot windows and linux.

Check if there is any bespoke software he needs to run, i.e. there may be a chance he is stuck to a Windows machine.

Beyond that it really is a matter of opinion. Personally I hugely prefer OS X to Windows or Linux, but there are many things I really do not like about current MacBooks and MacBook Pros (dreadful and unreliable keyboard, soldered-in SSDs, soldered-in RAM, dreadful environmental protection etc). Basically if he wants to write a seriously long thesis, not back it up regularly, and then spill coffee or beer on his computer don’t buy a MacBook. Buy a business-grade Lenovo (T or P-series) instead.

Aah, no easy answers. Will see what back up uni provides, software is key. He is doing a law degree so it will be for typing up essays, research etc

After a bit of research I am sticking with Win 10 laptops for my two girls. Both unis use Office either native or 360 style. Almost any modern laptop is plenty powerful enough. The only exceptions are usage requirements if media editing or gaming are a consideration - in our case, Geography and Business Management not a issue.