advertisement

Go mirrorless they said...smaller and lighter they said...

Mirrorless won’t make any difference to long focal length lenses like these. The size of the lens will be driven by the lens aperture and the need to cover a ‘full-frame’ sensor without serious vignetting.

The short registration length of a mirrorless camera can help make shorter focal length lenses more compact since they don’t need to be as strongly retro-focal, or even not retro-focal at all.

I guess with full frame you can’t reduce the size and weight of the lenses so any real size/ weight savings made with the mirrorless bodies are offset. With the Panasonic S1/ S1R there isn’t even a real saving over an DSLR body!

I've been using mirrorless for a few years now (E-M5, X-T1, E-M5 II, X-T2 and again X-T1), and considering going back to reflex...

I like the smaller size of body and lens (I use a wide-normal pancake) but ultimately prefer the feel of the reflex.

Well, here on the left with have Canon’s EF 70-200, and on the right their upcoming RF 70-200 for mirrorless. No word on the respective weights, but Canon are certainly working hard at chopping the grams off at the mo.

Oh come on. Photo shows while editing post, turns into a red X in the thread. Grrr.

Last edited:
https://www.dpreview.com/articles/4...new-sony-gm-600mm-f4-and-g-200-600mm-f5-6-6-3

Lovely lenses but about the same size/ weight as Canikon, Sigma, Tamron super teles.

Yep. And for the sake of completion now consider an abomination such as this one:
9jnBzdA.jpg

Now compare it with this
yx99WLn.jpg

And I speak as a Nikon user and fan of 20+ years.

Ah, the marvels of marketing.

I would think that the Df is as much about marketing as any camera, given the eye-watering price for what you actually get.

PS, I'd love one. Only I can't afford one.

My point was not so much about the camera but about the lenses and concept.