advertisement

Double Bass question

As an instrument, it was doomed the moment Leo created the Precision.

Not even close! As far as I can tell no instrument has ever made any other instrument obsolete. All newer stuff does is add additional options to the existing palette, it never remove anything previous. A double bass is to a Fender Precision what say a piano is to a Minimoog, just a different thing for a different context. Similarly the piano didn’t make the harpsichord obsolete, the TR-808 didn’t banish all drum kits to junk shops etc. As an electric bassist I have nothing but fascination and respect for double basses, they are wonderful things. I’d maybe even go as far as arguing that folk like me who have only ever played fretted electric instruments in rock bands aren’t even bassists! Were something else, something ultimately far cruder and less interesting.

Not even close! As far as I can tell no instrument has ever made any other instrument obsolete. All newer stuff does is add additional options to the existing palette, it never remove anything previous. A double bass is to a Fender Precision what say a piano is to a Minimoog, just a different thing for a different context. Similarly the piano didn’t make the harpsichord obsolete, the TR-808 didn’t banish all drum kits to junk shops etc. As an electric bassist I have nothing but fascination and respect for double basses, they are wonderful things. I’d maybe even go as far as arguing that folk like me who have only ever played fretted electric instruments in rock bands aren’t even bassists! Were something else, something ultimately far cruder and less interesting.

People who play the electric bass are guitarists, basically.

People who play the electric bass are guitarists, basically.

Nonsense. the electric and the upright are tuned (usually) the same, and fulfil mainly the same function. Your snobbery speaks (ironically) volumes. I played both, live, for a decade.