advertisement

VHF/FM radio ...

I’ve still got my SX750 from when I was a student ( inc the Castle Tynes I bought at the same time to go with it). My tuner collection is now whittled down to-
MD108
MD102
Troughline III/ TdeP valve decoder.

There’s real magic in the sound of the MDs coming through Harbeth speakers and a good amp. You could argue why not just use internet radio but why bother with vinyl either? Both are enthusiast pursuits and will endure I feel.

Both my four element yagis are a bit battered by wind and time, so need to get that sorted. Problem is they’re hard to find now- the last two were from Maplin.
Any tips on suppliers most welcome.

How about a 9-element beam? This is what I use for my set-up, and I bought mine in 2014, so the 2019 version may be slightly different. I assume they will still ship to the UK:

https://www.antennenland.net/3H-FM-9M19

Last edited:
Must admit that the thought that came to my mind was, "I wonder what you'd make of the 320k aac stream processed into mono. :)
Dear Jim,

I have done a bit of an experiment, with rough comparisons between the BBC internet sends and the Troughline on some live concerts which engaged me less musically.

My conclusions are not scientific, though to my ears the differences were enough to justify noting.