advertisement

Brand new PMC Twenty5.23 speakers

Behave now, Keith! :D

For what it’s worth, when I worked as a loudspeaker designer, we did the test you’re thinking of - namely comparing a ‘box-fresh’ pair of speakers with a pair that we had run in with pink noise for a constant 48 hours.

The differences were not subtle and it took a good week to ten days of ‘normal’ use before the box fresh pair caught up with the others.

And was that difference measurable?

If I was a dealer, I’d probably suggest
1-demoing a run-in pair in store, followed by
2- a “sale or return” home dem of that run in pair.
If you like that sound, then return the dem pair & order a new pair. If you don’t like em, assuming no damage has been done to the speakers, you get a refund or credit note towards different speakers.

Behave now, Keith! :D

For what it’s worth, when I worked as a loudspeaker designer, we did the test you’re thinking of - namely comparing a ‘box-fresh’ pair of speakers with a pair that we had run in with pink noise for a constant 48 hours.

The differences were not subtle and it took a good week to ten days of ‘normal’ use before the box fresh pair caught up with the others.
Hmmm!
Driver manufacturer didn’t test and measure each driver?
Keith

Most hifi speakers don't see this ever in their lives. How often do you run your speakers near flat out? For 48 hours? You physically can't do this with something like a Tannoy HPD or a big JBL unless you lend it to a local disco operator for a few weeks.

We used to put them face to face, connect one out of phase, stuff any rear ports with sponge, feed them pink noise and cover them with a duvet/layers of acoustic foam. The result, even when the drivers were hammering away, was little more than a background hiss.

And was that difference measurable?

Yes. Both impedance and frequency response traces had notable differences. If you knew where to look, of course...