advertisement

Computer as roon core- ROCK or Audiolinux?

Koobre

pfm Member
I'm planning on using a barebones Intel NUC i7 computer with an SSD to serve as a Roon server. I predominantly stream via tidal but have a collection of about 500 digital albums on a separate hard drive. I have already got a Roon lifetime membership. I'm considering using the Roon OS (Roon optimised computer kit-ROCK) but have heard that Audiolinux may have an edge in terms of sound quality. I was wondering if anyone has any experience in comparing both? I have no experience with Linux but comfortable with general Mac computer use and was also wondering if it is a tricky software to manage. Many thanks.

The OS (audiolinux vs RoonOS) won't have any impact on the sound, I'm running ROCK on an i5 Intel NUC and it works absolutely fine. You just create a bootable USB from the image and that is pretty much it. No faff or foo involved just a good interface.

I haven’t used Audiolinux but i’m Running ROCK on an i7 Intel NUC. I’m no tech wiz but just followed the instructions on the Roon website - it was pretty straightforward to source the components, build and get up and running. I’m really happy with it and it works without any issues (and it was a lot cheaper to build than buying a Nucleus).

I’m using ROCK on a NUC i7 and AudioLinux on another NUC i7 as a RoonBridge endpoint. Both are in Akasa x7d fanless cases. I’m still using basic PSU’s but I’m very pleased with the results.

Chris

Yes compared to the Nucleus, the NUC basic computer seems to be much better value. Thanks everyone for there views. I'll probably go with ROCK as it seems more straightforward and it is free :).

I’m running my NUC i7 as a headless roon core but bottled putting rock onto it due to my lack of experience with windows/Linux. If you are using it as a player then rock is worth doing but I was advised running the windows program us fune if it’s just as a server.