advertisement

Speaker Cable for Rega Elicit

The Rega SC42 is the one you really need to hear. Unfortunately its very hard/impossible to find.

Ive been using it for 19 years now on all my past and present Rega amps and never found anything i like as much , including Naim , Chord and Van Damme.

Short of finding some SC42 , I would guess the obvious one to try is the Rega Duet [as previously suggested 5 yrs ago ??].

I've tried a few cables for my Rega gear over the years - I have settled on Linn K20 as the best stuff to my ears for very reasonable money. I also have the Rega Couple IC. It's funny - to my ears the Couple tends to settle down Rega's worst tendencies - which makes it a good match. It COULD be 100% psychosomatic, though - the cable is very soft and flexible and just feels silky smooth in the hand, but also appears very "high tech" in it's Apple Store white sheathing. So it strikes me as very smooth, yet detailed. HA!!!

Judd

I would try Tellurium Q or EWA over Chord any day of the week. EWA is the original designer of TQ cables and having heard them they sound astounding for the price. Chord always sound really bright and unpleasant to listen to in my experience.

I've just moved my EWA-LS 25 on and moved to Epic Super Twin. The latter is far from bright, the bass is seismic, and top sweet and smooth.

Last edited:
The best speaker cable I have heard is what I use, Coherent Systems 5D, but it isn't cheap.

+1 for Coherent systems speaker cables. I’ve heard the 6D and was very impressed. They are what I will get next, much smoother and natural compared the the Chords that I auditioned at the same time. In the meantime enjoying the pair of 4Ds I picked up second hand.

It's the newer Elicit pre Elicit-R