advertisement

The PFM 'Printing' thread

Mr Perceptive

Perceptive Member
Not wishing to steal @Rico 's thunder, but I know @Lefty wants this, and so do I!!

We need a thread to discuss all things print, I'm a novice in this area (despite having had a decent printer for about 3 years!!), and I'm only starting to get to grips with it so to hear from others would be great.

I think this thread should not only encompass home printing (both the delights of darkroom and digital) but should also include experiences with print agencies, I mean how do you even decide on what medium to print??

Tips on software setup and configuration would be most welcome, and your printing journey, what worked and what didn't work, and where are you going next.

I'll kick off here with my setup.

PC based (I have the luxury of a lovely 27" Dell IPS panel, which has been calibrated with a colormunki display - it came bundled with my printer). I'm a WIndows user and use LR for editing/printing.

My printer is a Canon Pro-100 A3 printer currently with Canon ink, but I will shortly be moving to inks from OctoInkJet, as these apparently are a very good colour match for the Canon.

Up until recently I was using some fairly generic paper from PermaJet, but I've just bought some FotoSpeed paper, and am currently using their generic Canon Pro-100 profiles for this paper. When I switch to the OctoInkJet ink, I will get some custom profiles from FotoSpeed for the papers that I currently have. With FotoSpeed you get a free profile with each pack of paper, but I've decided to wait until I'm using the new inks before getting my printer profiled.

@Lefty has been a great help in getting me started printing my work, and I'm really pleased that I have, I'm looking forward to continuing the journey.

@Mr Perceptive Excellent stuff! We definitely needed a printing thread as I think there are a few of us who here who print. Hopefully the information shared will also inspires others to give it a go.