advertisement

Another Hi-Fi holy cow put out to pasture . . .

Nothing to do with hifi holy cows, but this on the flickr website made me smile:

'We’re thrilled to announce that Flickr will be joining SmugMug to create the world’s best home for photography.'

SmugMug? Why didn't they go the whole hog and call themselves GobShite?

This clearly needs pictures! How do they generate any bass without a baffle? I’ve tested 15” Tannoys just sitting face-up on the floor before now and they have no bass at all until you stick them in the cabs.
The drivers face each other, separated by about 6 or 8 cms. Hanging freely by wires.

Daytons by Clive M, on Flickr

I'm no expert, but the way I see It Is vibrations travel through the speaker enclosure and through whatever they are sitting on. Putting shock absorbers between the cabinet and floor or stand seems like the logical thing to do.

Wow, never seen anything like that before! Even the Gradient subs for Quad 63s, which are the closest I’ve seen, had some amount of baffle. I don’t quite understand the logic, surely they’d cancel to a large degree without a baffle?

Wow, never seen anything like that before! Even the Gradient subs for Quad 63s, which are the closest I’ve seen, had some amount of baffle. I don’t quite understand the logic, surely they’d cancel to a large degree without a baffle?
They do cancel hence 2 X 900W per channel though they work with 150W. They are even flat in that I don't need to equalise them low down. I use DSP but that's to fix my room modes.

It took me ages to dispense with concerns about action-reaction blunting transients but it doesn't. They simply don't move even with huge excursions....all the more huge due to cancellation. They are bloody heavy.

The drivers face each other, separated by about 6 or 8 cms. Hanging freely by wires.