advertisement

Does a separate mains spur for hifi make a difference?

I'm presently doing a full house renovation and I'm having my electrician fit a dedicated supply for my hifi. I like the reasonable benefits from a dedicated supply but if major work had to be done to channel the cables I wouldn't do it. An earth rod doubles the improvement IME if it can be installed.

Good for you, Rob, but only one supply? Adding an earthing spike can only be done safely if you have a specific type of domestic earth bonding (TT, I believe). Generally this is older properties and rural ones. Fitting one to a PMC bonded house can potentially be lethal to houses sharing your phase, I understand (but I'm no expert). However, yes, it can reduce the impedance somewhat, potentially improving dynamics.

DOES ANYONE READ THE POSTS, I WONDER? Two further mentions of SPURS (see my post 2) Dedicated hifi mains supplies ONLY INVOLVE RADIAL CIRCUITS.

Main benefits from a separate supply, apart from the obvious reduction or elimination of interference and more conformity of supply whatever the time of day are IMPROVEMENT in DYNAMICS, which simply means better s.q. , transparency and sound-staging, etc. It can also be useful to have separate control of your kit's supply at the c.u.

How much improvement will depend upon the quality of your installation and the general state of your mains supply (how many people share the phase, how far from sub-station and whether overhead or underground)

It would be the first thing I would attend to.

A decent mains supply is a must if you do not want to hear clicks pops and bangs from the rest of the houses electric items.

Also good if like me you are surrounded by wifi points.

It would be the first thing I would attend to.

A decent mains supply is a must if you do not want to hear clicks pops and bangs from the rest of the houses electric items.

Also good if like me you are surrounded by wifi points.