advertisement

SME 15 - experiences?

iaxel

pfm Member
Wondering if anyone auditioned/listened to the new SME 15 deck.
Comparison between other tables in this price range will be interesting, as well as a comparison to the SME 20/3.

Thanks!

This model is only just coming out of the Steyning factory; I haven't heard one yet, but I have been using SME decks for 25 years and have some familiarity with the range. So I can try and give some pointers, all subject to actually hearing the deck!
The Fifteen was originally intended to replace the unsuspended Model 10, but SME realised just how popular the 10 is, and decided to slot the 15 into the existing range. It is, of course, a three-point suspension rather than four, but the design ideas, and the execution of those ideas, fits straight into the range of SME suspended decks.
As such, there is a strong likelihood that the Fifteen will sound stable, calm and pretty powerful in the bass...all characteristrics of the range in general. Hi Fi News has one for test, and I would bet the measured figures for speed stability and noise will be exceptionally good.
In my opinion, you do get 'more' as you go up the range...SME aren't a stupid firm. But whether the extra performance is worth the high cost depends not just on personal taste but your system. If the system doesn't produce deep, powerful, bass, then the full advantage of spending extra will be lost. It may not be worth spending more.
The other point here is that buying an SME is usually determined by a desire for the 'full package'....design, build, packaging, history, finish, factory long-term support. And you get that with any deck from the range.
Sorry I can't be more specific, but, in truth, you have to hear these things for yourself . Personal taste is so crucial here. There are so many good rival decks that I wouldn't know where to begin, although the Michell Orbe with SME Five arm would be a place to start (for me anyway.)