advertisement

Zerodust or VP dust buster stylus cleaner?

G

Guest432

I've had my DV-20x2L for a few weeks now and want to look at options for cleaning it. Having read other posts and comments I think I'll avoid wet cleaners. What is everyones opinion on which has the better results but more importantly which is the safest to use?

I also hear mention of Linn green stuff but can't seem to find it online, is this no longer available or one of those dealer use only things?

I use the onzo on my 20xl and think it's pretty good. I appreciate what you are saying about wet cleaners but I've just got some clearaudio cleaner from Gauis and tried it last night. Made a real difference- cleaned the sound right up. Much clearer.

I'm relatively new to vinyl still an would t mind knowing more about this kit. At the moment I'm using the Ortofon brush provided an a soft paint brush to lightly clean the needle as an when. Am I wrong to do this. What's the best way ?

I use the onzo on my 20xl and think it's pretty good. I appreciate what you are saying about wet cleaners but I've just got some clearaudio cleaner from Gauis and tried it last night. Made a real difference- cleaned the sound right up. Much clearer.

I've been using this stuff for years and it is very good indeed, no problems at all.

Thanks Mike.

Chris if you want a bottle give me a shout, it's £25 but will last donkeys.

I will again make the case for getting a record cleaning machine for the serious vinyl user.

If all is clean to begin with then the stylus stays more clean and everything sounds better.

I have a good rcm but frankly use it as little as possible, because my trusty old zerodust seems to do the everyday job well.i use the zerodust after each record playing session. it's true that an rcm will properly clean records, but that is often not necessary, and it is very, very,, boring.

it's true that an rcm will properly clean records, but that is often not necessary, and it is very, very,, boring.