advertisement

¿End-of-side distortion — inherent to vinyl?

By spending stupid amounts of money, we can get it to sound almost as good as a cheap DVD player. But why bother? The software to play new music on it is now stupidly expensive, and most new music does not get a vinyl release.

And in spite of what you say, the vast majority of S/H vinyl is well & truly knackered.

Chris

Actually as an avid Vinyl nut I have to agree here..as much as I love playing around and fiddling with Record Players ( engineer at heart and self confessed Alfa nut) I have had tracks from films on DVD played on a cheap LG DVD player which absolutely walk all over any Vinyl I have played for sheer realism and immediacy..I put the film on, sit back and all of a sudden a song will come along which just blows me away. In contrast everything I play on either my Meridian or Shanling CD players sounds good but nowhere that good.

I am not an expert but I will trust Touraj Moghaddam knows what he is doing, and it seems to work very well in my experience.

I think actually you do need increased anti-skating force towards the centre of the record because the angle of the groove is increased which in combination with velocity throws the arm inwards with increasing force.

I will try to explain this in the simplest terms possible. Please read it carefully:
the groove exerts a force on the stylus in the direction it travels. This force is affected (increases with) tracking weight and groove speed. Appropriate anti-skating force increases alongside increases of tracking weight. Appropriate anti-skating force increases alongside increases of groove speed. Groove speed is less in the centre so less anti-skating force is required there.

If you want me to provide an explanation of these simple facts in terms of force equilibrium, I will, but I hope the above is enough for you to see that you are mistaken.

I´ll get my coat whilst I rejoice in my lack of aural sensitivity. How I love my (Ittok) 3rd hole.