advertisement

Water Divining

My Grandfather was pretty good at it. Had me doing it too, although I cannot remember the details now. I think it was 2 bent sticks if Hazel.

Since his house was supplied from a natural fresh water well he could demonstrate it well.

What kind of conformism fascism is this?
https://www.theguardian.com/busines...t-using-divining-rods-to-find-leaks-and-pipes
I'm a scientist (Physicist by training) I've tried water divining. It just works I can't explain it except any substance has a presence and a delicately set device detects that presence. So why the witch hunt against using such a skill. Man has used it for thousands of years.
That piece is outrageous. How dare they demand that the technique be binned on grounds of cost. How much does it cost to walk up a field or a path with a couple of sticks, compared to using the modern technology?

What scientific analysis has divining been subject to, if any? I remember a test, not in anyway as rigourous as a true scientific test would be, where a number of dowsers were asked to identify which of 30 containers held water. The results were that dowsers could not indentify them any better than random members of the public.

If it works, it works! A friend recently bought a house in Tuscany, halfway up a hill. He told me he called a water diviner who walked around with two bits of wire, and after a bit he said "drill here!" And added, "not one meter that way or that way, but right here!" It worked, of course. I really don't understand what on earth they are complaining about. Probably nothing better to do to amuse themselves.

Surely, that might just show that water divining is a more universal talent, not show that it doesn't work?
It shows nothing, except that those who claimed to have dowsing talents did no better than anyone would by chance using no "equipment" whatsoever.