advertisement

Ncc200 caps.

Edwar65

pfm Member
Hi, I wish to change C3/C6 caps on my ncc200 boards, they will be swapped out for a 10uf wins in C3 and 100uf Sprague wet tantalums in C6.
Is it necessary to check anything on the boards when they are powered back up, if so, what and how? I have access to a few multimeters.
Also, do I need to be careful with regard to static as I don't have Access to a wrist band at moment?
Many thanks.

As with any change to the board you should check the bias current, 36mA and the DC offset, <50mV.

Hi garf, thanks for reply. How does one check and adjust these and at which point on the boards do I take readings for the bias/DC offset?
I didn't build the boards,the amp was bought complete,so am a novice with regards to electronics,I am a qualified electrician though!!!
Thanks.
Tom

You could use 2 multimeters to set bias on both channels at the same time to speed things up ( you need to give the current time to stabilise ) as it's a bit long winded doing one channel and waiting for the supply to discharge before doing the second one. I believe it can be a bit risky disconnecting the +ve supply whilst there's still charge left on the -ve supply. For the same reason make sure your meter is firmly connected and can't slip off the +ve supply lead and the corresponding tag on the amp board.
Check the voltage on each channel output terminals when you've finished ( you can't adjust it, it's set by the relative gain of TR1 & 2 - Les will have matched them during construction ).

Yeah I would always recommend discharging everything + & - side before connecting / disconnecting just in case it blow's something, and some people have reported exactly that happening.
Always connect the ground lead's first, then Neg then pos, that's my own little routine but it works for me :rolleyes:
Alan