advertisement

Leica D-Lux 5

Cleansound

pfm Member
Hi fellow forumers.
I have searched extensively and can't find a thread on this.
Can anyone give me their views on the Leica D-Lux 5.

I would love to afford the M9 or M8 or any other high end Leica for that matter, but unfortunately I don't have the deep pockets of a sheik nor for what I intend to use the camera for.

I am a professional athlete and train often at early hours or sunset, I often see an image as I am riding along and wish I had my SLR with me, these are too damn big to carry.

The D-Lux 5 looks like a suitable option with a good lens and also capable of excellent DOF.
The Panasonic LX 5 is essentially the same camera, but I believe that Leica use a different firmware.

Now Cliff, seeing that you have infected me with your passion as well as other great members here, I would appreciate any and all advice where possible.
The bottom line, will it be worth having it as a compact, when I expect SLR quality ?

Thanks in advance.

It's exactly the same camera as the Panasonic, I wouldn't pay the extra.

But if you're looking in that price range you may be better off with one of the larger sensor small cameras, micro 4/3rds etc.

will it be worth having it as a compact, when I expect SLR quality ?

It depends on what you are photographing