advertisement

istDS to k-x?

RichardH

Bodging pleb
Should I think about moving on from the Pentax ist*DS? I know the DS has the benefit of the pentaprism for a bit of extra viewfinder brightness, but has the time come to move on from the DS?

Good question -- I'm also still plugging along with my *istDL. 6MP doesn't really limit me, but better noise / high iso performance would be a plus.

I can't comment on the ist*DS. However, I've owned the K-X for 8 weeks or so now and thoroughly enjoying it. I have limited experience with high ISO picture taking but can give you this link to a picture taken with mine with the ISO set to 3200 and indoors with low light. Any processing was done in camera - nothing done to it after it left the camera - picture taken as a JPEG.

I actually took the picture to answer a question posed regarding the camera on another forum.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2713/4328704522_b27dc8b407_o.jpg

Ian has had both I think, I had a go with the new one, it's nice to hold, has a good shutter noise and takes video so it's a winner in my book.

The K-x is nice. The sensor is good, ergonomics are decent, it's sensibly priced. As digicams go, it's pretty good.

I stupidly sold my *istDS to buy a K10D. I wish I hadn't. The *istDS is a fabulous little D-SLR. If it ain't broke ...

James

I gave my *ist to my Dad and replaced it with an K-20 something or other and now barely ever take photographs as my camera is 10% better but 50% heavier and 150% more baffling.

Maybe the K-x is not so fecked up but I really think modern D-SLRs are all sorts of wrong (certain technical and professional contexts notwithstanding).

The K-x is smaller and lighter than the old Pentax I had. It's not baffling either. I think they got this one right.