advertisement

DIY Voyager mono block build

337alant

Negatively Biased
Following on from Shrooms excellent build and many others here before I Finally got round to starting my build of a pair of monoblock amplifiers based on the Avondale Voyagers
I have been using the NCC200 amplifers for a few years now and also built some voyager clones by Hacker ( the Hackernap amplifirer).
All of these amps are based on the 1960s RCA power amplifier circuit that NAIM also used in all of their Chrome Bumper amplifiers
Its a tried an tested design that provides an excellent solid state power amplifier that sounds fast clean with high transient performance, the sound can be tailored to your taste particularly by the choice of components with the feedback and input cap having a significant effect on the voicing of the amplifier., NAIM chose solid tantalum capacitors for these caps and that gave their amps that fast clean sound with an upfront presentation, some find their sound initially impressive but fatiguing in the long term, if you use film caps the sound will be a lot smoother and sweeter but can lack the excellent bass impact of the tantalums. My own preference is to use a Military spec Wet tantalum capacitor bye passed with either a 100nf polypropylene or polystyrene capacitor this retains all the speed and dynamics of the solid tant but sweetens the treble and still retains the excellent bass performance but also with a 3 dimensional image.

So for this build the amplifier modules are the excellent Avondale NCC200 amplifiers V 1.4 built using Dale RN60 resistors throughout except for resistors in the signal path which are Audio Note tantalum resistors, matched transistors are used throughout and Capacitors are all high quality Polypropylene, polystyrene, silver Mica and military spec wet tantalum types.