advertisement

Calling Reel-2-Reel Tape experts - TEAC A3440 15ips speed problems

ToTo Man

the band not the dog
I inherited this deck a couple of years ago and haven't really used it much. When I have used it, I've always stuck to the lower 7.5 ips tape speed for recording/playback, and the results are impressive. However I just tried to record/playback at 15 ips, and something strange happens.....

When I select the 15ips speed, the capstan speeds up to what I assume is the correct 15ips, but as soon as I press PLAY or REC and the pinch roller engages, the capstan and spools gradually slow down, eventually grinding to a complete stop, although I can still hear what I assume to be the belt whizzing round inside the unit. When I change back to the slower 7.5 ips speed, the deck functions as normal.

Does anyone know what the problem might be? I am a complete novice when it comes to tape, and I have not ventured inside this deck yet. I am aware that a common problem is that over time, the belt deteriorates/stretches, and eventually needs replaced. This would make sense if it wasn't for the fact that the deck still runs fine at 7.5 ips. It only grinds to a halt at the faster 15 ips speed. Does this deck use 2 different belts for the different speeds? :confused:

Another (unrelated) problem occurs when re-winding tapes, where the 're-wound' tape winds close to the edge of the metal spool and causes squeal when playing back. Oddly, this misaligned winding does not occur consistently around the whole spool, just on half of the spool (i.e. when you look at the three square holes in the spool, the re-wound tape is only mis-aligned in two of them). Is there any adjustment I can make to the metal flanges of the spool itself to correct this?

It could be that the Belts need changing, but it could also be just the tape is knackered.