advertisement

Adobe vs Capture

Whaleblue

Southbound
Adobe seems to be the default choice, but I’ve got the option of getting a Capture 1 Pro 23 perpetual license at 40% discount with another purchase.

I’m not a fan of the subscription model as I’m not going to be a massive user of either package, so I’d prefer to accept a non-upgradable Capture package for not a lot more than a year’s subscription of Adobe Photography.

The question then is am I making a mistake? Is Adobe easier to use for a relative newcomer, or will I readily grasp either. I’m a programmer by trade, so not any sort of technophobe.

Comments from either camp appreciated.

Capture One Pro had the reputation of being the best raw converter but I have no idea if that is still the case.
Both will have a learning curve but nothing that would be a show stopper.
Personally I'm with an Adobe subscription but also have the Affinity suite (I was intending to drop Adobe and go with Affinity).

I use Lightroom, haven't tried Capture One, but comparisons I have read suggest that LR is simpler to use, whereas C1 is more flexible and powerful. I think the DAM features of LR are better than those of C1.

I would highly recommend Capture, I've been using it for around 20 years.
Never used Adobe Photoshop as a Raw Converter so not commenting on it.

I have Lightroom+Photoshop on an annual subscription of £120 per year. Although I dislike subscriptions on principle, I decided that it was a reasonable deal, considering that it is roughly equivalent to 6-7 years of the outright purchase price of the final “perpetual” releases of those apps (PS-CS6 & LR6, I think?….both of which I have anyway), and it gets upgraded automatically.

Last edited: