advertisement

DIY FB1i anyone?

mikesnowdon

resU deretsigeR
Im new to this so I apologise in advance for asking silly questions.

Im currently working on the cabinet dims for the FB1. I have the external dims which can be downloaded from the pmc website. Ive managed to cut and paste the 'cut away' image of the FB1 (showing the TL and damping) onto the drawing with the external dims. Now all I need to do is find out what thickness the panels are and I'll be able to work out the rest of the dims. (A freind is a CAD expert so he will help me here) Does anyone know the cabinet wall thickness? (below is an example based on the OB1)

l_c04433b5f9f0a8a2fd353f6347085934.jpg

Next question is of course on the xo. Ive been searching and searching for a schematic of some sort but nothing yet. Ideally I'd like the latest 'i' version but the '+' would suffice. Anyone here own FB1's or know the xo setup? (I found this website who sell the crossovers, pricey though: http://www.technosound.co.uk/nav.php?pageid=SpeakerSpares#PMC)

This leads to the final question: Drivers.

From what I can tell the midbass is either:

Vifa M17WG-09-08 or Vifa M17WH-09-08

The tweeter I believe is:

Vifa D27TG-45-06 for the '+' version.

For the 'i' version:

[The PMC website tells us the tweeter is a 27mm SONOLEX* unit (*which I've found out is a trademark of SEAS). The unit PMC use also has a rear chamber.]

Having looked at the SEAS website I've been able to narrow it down to this:

H0881-06 27TFFC.

Can anyone help with corect driver identification or crossover details please?

Thanks in advance for your help and advice.

Mike

SEAS and Tymphany (Vifa is one their brands) are both set up to do special OEM versions of drivers for manufacturers, so there is every chance that they are special versions tweaked to specifications that PMC set.