advertisement

Speaker kit - how about this one?

horace

pfm Member
Hi

I fancy building a pair of speakers and feel drawn to these ones (I have a KT88 valve integrated gathering dust and wondered if they might be a good match).

https://secure.wilmslow-audio.co.uk/catalog/index.php?cPath=21_101_68

The price of the kit is £370 including flat pack MDF cabinets.

I'm a beginner, though I have just about enough DIY experience to cope with putting them together.

£370 will buy a pretty good pair of used speakers these days, so is this kit likely to be worth the outlay in sound per pound terms?

Any other recommendations (similar cost or less)?

Cheers

Martin

Ron
How would you describe the sound using your valve amp, and do they need a lot of space behind them.

Ron
How would you describe the sound using your valve amp, and do they need a lot of space behind them.

The sound is wide, deep and very detailed although I've done a lot of upgrades to the Kit88, those stone each Sowters made a big difference,with the standard transformers the sound was smaller and not as controlled in the bass although I found it sounded like that with other speakers I tried them with.

I have the IPL's about a foot away from the rear wall and don't have any problems.
BTW when new they sounded awful for about a week and seemed to keep improving, I really like these speakers and don't feel the need to upgrade yet, they sound very good with the UCD and NCC200 amp

Only thing with the Ribbons is that they sound best sat in the listening position

Ivans a nice chap, I got chance to have a listen to his speakers when we spent a fortnight at Ilfracombe

Re. Wilmslow speaker kits, they are easy to put together with only basic tools.
I built one for a friend and they didnt require any special tools.