advertisement

Seller beware!

robs

should know how this works by no
Decluttering is meant to be liberating, but my recent experience is just frustrating and depressing. Wish I hadn’t started…

It is time for a clear out – stuff accumulated over far too long and just never used anymore, so it was time to get rid (a little pressure from SWMBO also..). I could throw it all in a skip and walk away, but most of it is good usable stuff and should be of use to someone. I hate waste and some of it is worth a little number of squids so have had a go at flogging it on the bay.
I’ve been using the bay for some 15 years. Used to sell a lot of records and have 1200+ excellent feedback. Have only used it for a few bits and pieces in the last three years or so since returning from Oz. So I put a few things up, some for collection only.

Immediately, the collection only stuff is receiving queries about can I ship it…

Can I ship a fishing rod to Australia? No. Germany? No. Italy? No.

Can the buyer arrange a courier to collect and take it to Scotland – OK.

Said rod is paid for, two weeks after winning, by Paypal, after several messages along the lines of:
“Hi, I sent you a message before I'll pay next week my son gets married this weekend so watching the pennies I'll not let you down fri at the latest cheers XX 👍”

Here we go….

I pack it up (not easy!).… and three weeks later it’s still sitting in my hall waiting for them to arrange the courier...:confused:

A printer sells for 99p. Collection only. Paid for with Paypal.
“Could I deliver it?” No.
“It’s 150 mile round trip so I might not be able to do it soon”. OK….
“I won’t be able to collect it, please keep the money” ..err…OK.
Why bid if you are 150 miles away and it is clearly collection only?:confused:

A NOW TV box. A couple of quid.
“Can I get Sky Sports on it” Yes, if you buy a subscription.
“OK thanks.” Bids and wins at £3. Pays by Paypal.
A couple of days later …“Can I get IPTV on it”. No, I don’t think so.