advertisement

new to diy what would you suggest as a start

captain

Still lazy after all these years
hi all, Ive been reading as many threads as possible and i want to start somewhere. I want to build a snaps for my cd 3.5. I have very little electronics knowledge but i am working electrician so have a few tools and can solder, what is your advice on where to build up my knowledge. i want to start a project as you learn as you go along. thanks all

I started out with a CMOY build, its a low cost headphone amp that is very simple.. Lots of reading material out there and you actually learn what the various parts do etc as you tweak the design.
Its a design that is easily evolved with buffer chips/better power supplies etc, and the low cost makes it ideal as if (when) you let the magic smoke out its not a big deal.

Sam

A Naim power supply is simple: a transformer, plain rectifier, capacitors and a regulator to set the output voltage at 24 volts. There are endless discussions on how different components and regulators affect the sound, but essentially that's all it is. If you are an electrician you could solder it up in a couple of hours.

Do you also have a naim preamp by any chance. If so I'd highly recommend the acoustica mods to the 321/gain circuit. It gives you chance to try some cap swapping and find out what the different cap choices offer. Easier to do in a 32/32.5/72, but still possible in a 42/62.

And you can often pick up 321 cards to get a back up set in case of disaster.

A SNAPS is a nice simple thing.

I guess you are comfortable working with mains voltages (which most beginners aren't), it would make a good starter project.

If it seems a bit much, you could start on a kit from somewhere, and build that up before attempting a SNAPS.